Trucking Life: Awards
0 Comments Share
BCTA Ready to Recognize Trucking’s Best

LANGLEY, BC — The British Columbia Trucking Association members can now make nominations for BCTA’s upcoming awards: 2014 Driver of the Year, Honourary Life Memberships and Service to the Industry Award.

The deadline for submissions is April 11, 2014. Members can email nomination forms to or fax them to 604-888-2941.

Driver of the Year

An annual tradition with the BCTA, this award recognises and promotes safe driving among professional drivers.

In addition to bragging rights, the winner gets free registration for two for Saturday, June 7 of the 2014 BCTA Conference (including one night accommodation for June 7) at the Delta Grand Okanagan Resort in Kelowna.

The Award is scheduled to be presented at the Luncheon on Saturday, June 7, 2014.

To be eligible, a nominee must meet the following requirements:

  • Regularly employed as a professional truck driver for at least the last five years;
  • Good driving record, including no preventable accidents in the last five years;
  • Employed as a driver with your company for at least one year.

Preference will be given to nominees who meet one or more of the following criteria:

  • High commitment to safety and professionalism (i.e. safety committee, first aid training);
  • Active in community service (including evidence of exceptional courtesy or acts of bravery on the road);
  • Long service in the industry (years of employment and km driven).

Click here for the nomination form. 

Honourary Life Membership

BCTA recognizes those who have made long-time contributions to the industry and the association through Honourary Life Memberships.

Nominations for these awards come from the general membership to the BCTA Membership Committee. The Membership Committee will screen the candidates and make a recommendation to the Board of Directors who will select, by motion, candidates to be named as Honourary Life Members of the Association.

More than one or no life members may be chosen in any given year as appropriate.

The criteria for selection of Honourary Life Members are as follows:

  • 20 years direct service to the industry;
  • Demonstrated contribution to the industry and the association through leadership, service, support, active participation and success.

Click here for the nomination form. 

Service to the Industry Award

Each year since 1961, BCTA has given a Service to the Industry Award to a person who, in the opinion of the Selection Committee, has made an outstanding contribution to the association and truck transportation industry in British Columbia.

The award is supported by the Flemming Sondergaard Legacy Fund.

Flemming Sondergaard owned and operated Collins Manufacturing Company Limited and was active in BCTA for over forty years. He served as a volunteer director and member of the executive and numerous committees within BCTA. He also served as chairman of the British Columbia Institute of Technology from 1987 to 1989.

The award is given to individuals who’ve shown leadership in the BCTA and who have been active with the association through volunteering and by providing input to policies and programs.

The selection criteria includes outstanding contributions in the areas of safety, education, legislation and government relations, the environment, industrial relations, and public relations.

Click here for the nomination form. 

Email Editor     Comment Below
Rate this Article!
We Recommend:
Popular this Week:
Social Activity




Notify me of other comments on this story (requires email and password)

* Please type the letters above exactly as they appear:  

Please Note:

While we value your feedback, please avoid profane or personal attacks. You should know that if your comment contains libelous, prejudicial or just plain wrong statements, it will be deleted.

Report Abuse

Video Reel