Today's Trucking
news People

B.C. crowns top driver

Posted: August 1, 2014

ABBOTSFORD, B.C. — Maybe it was the home field advantage, or maybe he’s just the best, but Dean Grant of Abbotsford, B.C. was crowned the province’s Grand Champion at the driving championships held in Abbotsford.

The B.C. Professional Truck Driving Championships were held at the Tradex Centre on June 27 and featured 49 of the provinces best drivers.

There were six classes to compete in and the competition consisted of three sections including a written test – which tests the drivers’ general knowledge of the industry and equipment; a pre-trip inspection – which approximates the drivers’ regular vehicle inspection; and the actual driving competition – which simulates the everyday skills of maneuvering, cornering and judging distance.

To be eligible to compete, each driver must be free of preventable accidents for the twelve months prior to the championships.

As well as being named the Grand Champion, Grant of Agrifoods International Co-op also took first place in the Tandem-Tandem category.

Other first place finishers included: Robert Mullen of Canadian Freightways in the Step-Van class, Hans Wettstein of Canadian Freightways in the Straight Van class, Jack Newton of Canadian Freightways in the Single-Single class, Edward Rolston of Van Kam Freightways in the Single-Tandem class, and David Lighton of Air Liquide in the B-Train class.

The Rookie of the Year award went to Neville Morrissette of Tridem Services, while Adam Besse of Canadian Freightways won the Safety Award. The Team Trophy went home with Canadian Freightways.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Related Articles