Today's Trucking
videos The Ultimate Test Drive

Mack Twin Y Suspension Wins Technical Award

Posted: April 17, 2017

NASHVILLE, TN — Mack Trucks’ Twin Y air suspension won the 2013 Technical Achievement Award from The Truck Writers of North America (TWNA).

The announcement and presentation took place Wednesday at an awards luncheon during the Technology & Maintenance Council’s annual meeting and exhibition.

Mack’s Twin Y air suspension got the most points in voting by committee members from among six product finalists. (The Technical Achievement Award winner was selected by a panel of trucking journalists which included Today’s Trucking editor Peter Carter.) The others were Allison’s TC10 automatic transmission; Detroit’s DT12 automated mechanical transmission; Eaton’s Fuller Advantage Series manual transmission; Innovative Trailer Design’s Walmart SuperCube trailer; and Truck-Lite’s modular LED headlamps. 

According to Mack, the Twin Y is the industry’s first suspension to use a Y-shaped high-strength steel design. Along with good handling, stable ride and extended drive-tire life, it is as much as 403 pounds lighter than other air suspensions on the market.   

 “When you cut weight and simplify a component at the same time, and it still works well, that’s a winner,” said committee member Tom Berg from Heavy Duty Trucking.

To be eligible for the Technical Achievement Award, a product or service has to clearly exhibit technical innovation, have a wide applicability in the trucking industry, offer significant benefits, and be widely available. While complete vehicles are not eligible, components and systems are.

The very first Technical Achievement Award was presented in 1991 to Grote Industries for its red LED marker light. Since receiving the inaugural award, Grote has sponsored the annual trophy.

Founded in 1988, TWNA is an organization of professional writers, editors, public relations specialists, marketing personnel and others involved in the business of creating or producing information related to the world of trucking. 

Previous winners of the annual TWNA Technical Achievement Award are:

  • 2012: Meritor FueLite 6×2 Axle with Meritor Wabco electronic controls;
  • 2011: Volvo Trucks’ XE13 Powertrain Package;
  • 2010: Bose Ride seat system;
  • 2009: ArvinMeritor PlatinumShield brake shoes;
  • 2008: Detroit Diesel DD15 Engine with turbo compounding;
  • 2007: Michelin Durable Technologies tire series;
  • 2006: Cummins Filtration’s Fleetguard User Friendly Filters;
  • 2005: Carrier Transicold Deltek “hybrid” diesel-electric refrigeration unit;
  • 2004: ConMet’s TruTurn brake drum;
  • 2003: Meritor-Wabco anti-rollover system;
  • 2002: Bendix XVision night vision system;
  • 2001: XM Satellite Radio;
  • 2000: ZF Meritor Freedom Line automated mechanical heavy duty truck transmission;
  • 1999: Donaldson Silent Partner muffler;
  • 1998: Cummins Signature 600 engine;
  • 1997: Eaton Fuller AutoShift automated mechanical transmission;
  • 1996: Rockwell Automotive Engine Synchro Shift (ESS) transmission;
  • 1995: International 9800 cabover with flat floor;
  • 1994: Caterpillar Engine and Navistar International (joint award) for the HEUI (Hydraulic-actuated Electronically-controlled Unit Injectors) fuel system for diesels;
  • 1993: Goodyear Tire & Rubber G300 tire;
  • 1992: Cummins ESP variable power engine line;
  • 1991: Grote Industries LED red clearance-marker lamp.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.